Do you Sexercise?

I hate working out. Like hate it. I know I need to and I always plan on waking up early in the morning to do some pilates or circuit training to tone up and get in shape (especially since I’m finally able to purchase my tickets to see my boyfriend in Argentina! I wanna look even better for my man and for myself!) Its even easier for me to toss working out to the side when I’m filling my schedule to the brim and I’m not really requiring a good healthy stanima since I’m in a long distance relationship.

Did you know that besides the obvious benefits of working out, it can provide good sexual health benefits too??? 

Besides increasing your stanima for those long, wild sack sessions. Exercise can increase your sexual desire as well. According to Healthwomen.org, you can get a boost to your arousal from working out and its typically stronger in the 15 minutes after you’re all finished with your workout.

So what does working out do for your sexual health?

  • Aerobic exercise gets your heart beat up and that blood pumping.  Getting your blood flowing is great for increasing arousal but also for the much desired stanima! No one wants to tire out during some amazing sex.  You know how I’m always saying the biggest, most important sex organ is the brain? Well exercise affects that too!  Take a look at the brain after 20 minutes of walking!

brain-scan

Exercise improves your overall brain function, from memory to focus. Remember for Legally Blonde where she talks about how “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.” Yeah totally true! Since we use our mind to help get ourselves in the mood, focus on enjoying the (hopefully many) orgasms your having, excercising is definitely worth the extra boost to your brain power!

Now I am probably the least flexible person I know. Even as a kid I couldn’t do the splits and I dont think I’ve ever been able to touch my toes without my knees bent ( I have really long arms…but my legs are even longer; shrinking sleeves and pants are a never ending problem for me).

is-flexibility-overrated

  • Flexibility can most certainly help your sex life. By doing workouts that include stretching, pilates, yoga or other floor exercises that help improve your flexibilty (and your strength) you’ll be sure to notice a difference in holding that intense “standing pretzel, upside down 69” position you’ve been itchin to try for ages. (don’t even ask if thats a real position, I totally made that shit up) Stretching and floor exercises can increase blood flow to your muscles and help to avoid muscle cramps. No one, I mean no one, wants to get a muscle cramp right at the moment your about to scream in joy because that joy instantly turns to pain!
  • Boosting your strength is great too. Especially when you’re on top. Boosting your arm strength and your core strength is great for holding those power sex positions for longer. No shaky arms when your biceps and triceps are in tip top shape! Not to mention there’s always a lot of power behind having a strong core.

pushup200

  • According to some studies, Yoga has been shown to improve sexual function from arousal and desire to lubrication and orgasm. Yoga can help you destress, focus, and relax but can also tone your muscles including the pelvic muscles. You want those babies nice and strong! Fit pelvic muscles = better orgasms!

General fitness is great to help improve your brain function, your stanima, flexibilty and strength all things that can help improve your sexual health and sex life! But I did not forget the very, very important exercise category that as women, we should be doing every day no matter what.

KEGELS!

The Mayo Clinic recommends that you do 3 sets of 10 repetitions every day to maintain and build healthy pelvic floor muscles. Kegels do just more than help with orgasms. Strengthening your pelvic floor muscles can help with a weak bladder. (You know if you tinkle when you are laughing or when you sneeze…) It can also help with fecal incontinence as well. Kegels are for women of ALL ages.

How do you know you’re getting the right muscles? Practice of course! When you’re going to the bathroom, stop your urine midstream (sounds weird and gross but it is what it is). If you’ve squeezed the right muscles your pee will stop and you’ll know that those are the right muscles! Memorize how that feels and do those babies while you’re watching tv, at every stop light, on the train, during dinner whenever you can.

Like I mentioned before, Mayo Clinic recommends 3 sets of 10 reps a day. Squeeze those muscles, hold for 10-15 seconds and release, repeat 10 times! And voila! Done!

If you have trouble with doing the kegels alone, you can also get some Ben Wa Balls or vaginal exercise balls like I talked about on Friday’s Post!

Leave a Reply

