Start Your Day Out Right!

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always skipped breakfast. The only thing I ever really liked was bacon.  But over the years, especially recently, I’ve grown to like it more and more and have tried to get in a routine of eating some sort of breakfast. I’m super lazy.  So when I see these absolutely delicious looking breakfasts that are all baked, savory goodness (think those delicious little mini-quiche’s or the ham & egg cups that pop up all over pinterest). I take a gander and say “Oh that looks easy!” Then I look at what it would take for me to prep it, then put it all together and toss it into my oven, which unfortunately is so janky I can’t even tell what temperature I’m setting it to, and then let it bake! Uh…yeah….thats not going to happen. Not at 6am. Maybe someday. When I can work from home or am on maternity leave or something…but reality is. Ain’t nobody got time for that! 

But we shouldn’t skip breakfast. They say its the most important meal of the day! (who is THEY and why do THEY say that?!) Here’s a few little facts I found from this article on Huffpost here!

  • People who skip breakfast are more likely to be obese.
  • Less likely to have high blood sugar levels and less hungry later in the day.
  • Gives you energy!
  • If you skip breakfast, cholesterol levels can increase.
  • People who eat breakfast tend to consume fewer calories throughout the day.
  • Can boost short term memory! Always forgetting where you put your car keys?
  • Breakfast skippers tend to eat more fat and consume less nutrients.
  • Breakfast foods are typically very healthy! Think oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruits.

Some pretty good reasons if you ask me! I have noticed that when I eat breakfast I do eat a little less throughout the day. Which in turn cuts down the calories I consume. So win win!

So what do I do then? When I’ve got oh say 15 minutes to down my coffee and eat breakfast? Toast is my usual go to as it can cook while my coffee is brewing. With a little schmear of cream cheese (something I picked up in Argentina). But when I’m feeling extra motivated and had previously prepped some fruit. I shoot for some fresh fruit and greek yogurt.

Berries can get pricy, but I look at it this way. I save money by not buying coffee (Thanks Keurig! And the re-fillable K-Cup!) And I buy plain, low-fat greek yogurt in a big tub (lasts a little bit longer and I can use it for other things as well, like pasta sauces). When fruit is on sale or they offer the jumbo packs of blueberries and raspberries, I jump on it. Because I typically will eat a package of raspberries before I make it to breakfast. I buy frozen fruits for smoothies but never for yogurt…its just not the same! One of these days (when I buy an oven thermometer) I’m going to make my own vanilla almond granola, because I go through it often $4.99 a box adds up.

I love to mix it up when I’m throwing fruit in a bowl with some yogurt. Tropical fruit, tree fruit, berries, all delicious and they go together great! Typically I toss some granola on there too but I was out. The great thing about a fruit-filled breakfast, that you can over indulge! I fill that bowl up to the top!

 

Kiwi's were on sale this week! So I stocked up! And nothing like peaches and berries!

Kiwi’s were on sale this week! So I stocked up! And nothing like peaches and berries!

I figure the more colorful it is the healthier it is right???

I figure the more colorful it is the healthier it is right???

 

If you can’t tell I’ve been practicing my photography skills! I was really shocked at how great these turned out (I made myself a light box, tutorial to come) and just used my little point and shoot camera! I was thrilled! You will get lots of recipe posts now that I’m practicing!

 

So what do you eat for breakfast when you’re in a rush??? Do you skip breakfast??

 

Please be sure if you Pin, Link back or use my photos that you give appropriate credit! 

Leave a comment