September Budget Recap

Spoon River Valley Scenic Drive. Click photo for link to site

Now that we’re making our way through October (before you know it its going to be Christmas) and I’ve officially committed myself to starting a budget. I’m going to recap my September success (and failures).

For being my first attempt at a budget and I started half way through the month. I think I did pretty great! Now that I’ve got a full month ahead of me I think it will be much easier to reach my goals in October than it was in September (since by the time I decided to even start it, I was already half way through my shopping budget!)

I’ve got my Fall Shopping List written out and I’ve got a better idea of what I spend each month and I’ve got a way to track my budget. So October should be a breeze (as long as I dont go crazy at the Gilt Warehouse Sale!).

Since I started mid September on my budget and I made a trip home to Michigan for a death in the family (which caused me to buy some funeral appropriate clothing and spend more on gas/tolls/food over the drive there and back) I definitely went over. Which is ok. But I still spent way less than I normally do each month

Here’s what I budgeted for myself and what I actually spent:

Groceries:

Budgeted: $250

Actual: $266

Difference: $16

Gas & Transportation:

Budget: $50

Actual: $30.00 (although I did have to pay my registration which was $111)

Difference: $20.00

Shopping

*This includes both clothing and home goods, eventually I will separate it but for now this works.

Budget: $250

Actual: $332

Difference: $82.00

Food/Entertainment

Budget: $100 but flexible

**Initially I wanted to only spend no more than $75 a month (cutting my actual spending in half), but between going to Michigan, a going away party and a few birthdays, I missed this budget completely. This month will be much better. 

Actual: $197

Difference: $97

Beauty

Budget: $50

**I rarely get my hair and nails done so this budget will be as needed.

Actual: $46.50

Difference: $3.50

September Budget

Total Budget: $700

Actual: $871.64

Difference: $171.50

 

So as you can see I clearly went over. But I still think September was a successful month. Considering my average monthly spending tops out at $1381. So I still spent almost $500 less this month than I normally do. Which to me is a HUGE success. Overall for the month I still spent about $400 more than my actual expenses but I also paid more towards my credit card and put a little extra in savings which are always a good thing.

October is going to be a great month. I’ve got a feeling.

 

What methods do you use to keep yourself on budget?

Leave a Reply

