Gilt City Warehouse Sale: Chicago. The best shopping day ever!

You better believe I was the first person there on Saturday for the Gilt Warehouse Sale in Chicago. I woke my ass up at 7:30am to be at the MCA warehouse by 8:30. I completely expected there to be at least 100 people there by then but I was the first one! (I actually got there at the same time as one other girl but still! We were first!!!) By 9am there were like 100 people in line.

I had a few goals in mind going into this sale…because I didn’t want to get distracted by pretty dresses I knew would be in abundance.

First Goal was to stay under $200…I then revised to $250. I was successful! I came in at $220. It definitely put me over my montly budget for October, but I think next month there’s only a few things I want to get and I can really get them for a discount. (woo hoo for coupons!)

Second Goal was to hit up the shoes first. I’m in desperate need of boots for fall. I legit have none. The pair I wore last year I literally wore them out and after such a harsh winter I needed new ones. So into the trash they went. I was successful on that front too! I found two pairs of boots! A pair of Maje caramel colored booties with fringe down the side and a pair of Corso Como Racine Boots in a dark chocolatey brown. Both were in great condition and insanely good prices. The Maje boots full retail were $435 (not sure how much the Gilt listed price was but I’m guessing around $150-$200) I got those babies for $59! The Corso Como boots full retail were $200 and  were listed at $69 plus an extra 20 percent off! So they ended up being around $56. I’m so excited about those Maje boots, they were really similar to another pair of boots I loved at Marshalls and I’ve been holding off on buying them, so glad I did!  I just have two pairs of boots I need a really warm pair of snow boots (who’s got suggestions for me! Think boots made for the South Pole!) and a pair of black knee high boots (which there are a pair at American Eagle that I like a lot and am waiting till November to buy)

corso como, racine boot, knee high boot, chocolate boot

Corso Como Racine Boot

Maje, Tan Bootie, Fringe, Fall boot, Ankle Boot

Maje Bootie

My third goal was to find some accessories. I have lots of jewelry but I’m bored by it and I want new things. I find myself wearing the same necklaces over and over again. And I have zero arm candy so that I was on the hunt for as well. But alas, the jewelry selection was slim. They did have a large table of jewelry from one company but nothing struck my fancy as I love lots of color when it comes to jewelry. And the Gilt selection consisted of Isabel Marant. Who is great designer (I love her shoes) but her jewelry wasn’t really my style.  So mission find cute jewelry was a fail.

I didn’t want to buy a bunch of clothes really. Maybe a jacket if I could find something fantastic. Which of course I found a Valentino Jacket which was beautiful but even on sale was priced at over $900….I did find a cute little collarless peplum blazer which I snagged. I wear a lot of navy but don’t really have any navy jackets. This was perfect. I was excited about it until I got back to the car and realized I didn’t even check the seams, which were ripped. Thank goodness my mom is an awesome seamstress and I snapped a few pics and she said she could fix it by taking it in (luckily there is plenty of room for that!) I really did drool over all the Zac Posen that was there…Zac Posen and Kate Spade would fill my closet it if I could buy anything and everything. I really adore Posen’s classic shapes and somewhat of a retro but super modern feel. Perfect for a woman who has lots of curves. The prices on the ZP dresses that were there were really reasonable…I saw one as low as $199, still crushed that it was out of my budget.

Purses were off limits! I seriously have way too many purses and next Summer I’m 100% going to have to part with a few. I could probably fill a carry-on with just my purses. I’ve really changed my mentality towards bags though in the last year or so. I’ve really made a straight forward effort to buy purses that are high quality and have the ability to get a lot of use. I love Kate Spade so I’ve invested in a few bags (I had to return a book clutch because it broke, so I traded in for a gorgeous hot coral shoulder bag) and I’ve taken advantage of the 70% off flash sales a few times. I was very tempted to buy a cute printed Kate Spade square bag at the sale (it was only $95!!!) but resisted, knowing that I wouldn’t have space in my suitcase next fall. But I did manage to come across a beautiful little red velvet wristlet…by who else but Zac Posen. For only $39 (the original tags were still on it too, full retail was $250)! And it fits my iphone! I don’t have a wristlet at all, but I decided I needed one. And this one. Because you know…Zac Posen. Its so purty.

Zac Posen, Velvet, Wristlet

Zac Posen Wristlet

My Gilt Warehouse Sale shopping excursion was 100% a success. And I am DEFINITELY going next time. I’m glad I did a little research about the sale prior to heading over.  Here are my tips if you’re going to a sale in the future!

  • Get the AM time slot and arrive early.
  • Hit up shoes first! I went to the shoes first because I knew that if there were boots they’d be the first to go since its summer. Boy was I right. There were only 4-5 pairs in my size and by the time I went through the shoes the second time towards the end, all the boots were gone.
  • Go through the rows a few times. People moved things around and I ended up finding things in the aisles each time I went through.
  • Best thing to do is if you see something, grab it and try it on, even if you’re not sure. Most likely if you pass it up it’ll be gone.
  • Don’t be afraid to get naked. The dressing rooms are communal, everyone shares a mirror and a rack.
  • Dont bring a lot of stuff with you. I didn’t wear a jacket and brought the smallest possible purse.
  • CHECK OVER EVERYTHING. I knew to do this before I went and I was so overwhelmed by everything that I completely forgot to check the jacket. I checked both pairs of boots and looked over my wristlet but didn’t with the jacket, only to find big holes along the seams. Everything in the sale is sold As-is, it may have damage, abnormalities or be dirty. But you really have to think about the damage. Ask yourself these questions:
    • Will I wear it often?
    • Is the damage repairable?
    • Is repairing it going to cost more than the item itself? For me, I go based on what the full retail value is, others go based on what they paid. If I buy a jacket on sale for $50 but full price it was $145, I can justify spending the money to repair it, especially if I know I’ll wear it alot. If it was $50 full price, I definitely can’t justifying spending the money on repairing it.
    • Is it a quality brand? Even high end brands have damage and abnormalities that need to be fixed. Whether it be from wear and tear or just a fluke. If its a higher end brand I say fix it, once repaired the item can last a long time! If its a cheap brand (say Zara, H&M, Topshop etc) I’d say pass on fixing it.
    • Is it a staple piece or trendy? If its trendy I’d say pass on repairing it. If its something thats timeless then definitely repair.

The Gilt Warehouse Sale doesn’t happen just in Chicago, there’s locations all over. Just check frequently on your local Gilt site and search for the Warehouse Sale to see when they held it last. Typically its in the spring and fall and they start selling tickets a month or two ahead of time. I learned last time not to wait to buy tickets as they sold out for the spring sale.

Did you check out the Gilt Warehouse Sale? How was it for you?

Leave a Reply

