Pepper Pico De Gallo!

I went home to Michigan over the 4th of July. We hit up my Great Aunt and  Uncle’s cottage so I wanted to be sure to bring a dish to pass that was easy to make and good to eat. Before I left (as I was going to be away for a few days) I did a evaluation of my fridge to see what I could use up so it wouldn’t go bad while I was away. I had a whole bag of peppers and an onion just sitting there begging to be used.  I really try to live by this idea that having a super colorful diet is good for you! I mean the more colors you eat means (usually) you’re eating tons of fruits and veggies which are totally good for you.  Its a good thing…I do eat a more colorful diet and definitely feel like my fridge is constantly filled with lots of produce as a result.

This really could be the simplest recipe possible. Just as a traditional Pico De Gallo is a few very basic ingredients this is really no different. And it totally looks like a party in a bowl!

Super easy to modify as well. You can add tomatoes, eliminate the cilantro, use whatever color peppers you want, whatever color onions you want (I love red onions because they’re so strong in flavor). I consider this a Pico because to me, salsa is really liquidy. Whereas this is not. I love it…and will be eating it all week long.

Pepper Pico

Pepper Pico De Gallo

Ingredients

Pepper Pico de gallo peppers

1 Red Bell Pepper

1 Orange Pepper

1 Yellow Pepper

1 Green Pepper

1 Red Onion (or whatever onion you like)

Cilantro

Salt

Pepper Pico De gallo Onion

Instructions

Dice your peppers and onions in to small pieces.

Diced Peppers

Chop your cilantro (if you decide to put it in)

 

Toss all ingredients together with a few cranks of salt.

Enjoy!

Pepper Pico De Gallo

Pico De Gallo

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pepper Pico De Gallo!

Leave a Reply

