Cheddar & Onion Biscuit Puffs

This recipe has quite the story.

I stopped going back home to Michigan for Thanksgiving about 6 years ago. Instead I hosted Thanksgiving with a few coworkers and haven’t looked back since. Its expanded now and this year we had about 10 people! Even though I love my family, having Thanksgiving with friends is WAY less stressful and much more fun for me. Its relaxing, fun, great way to catch up and my friends are all great cooks so we end up eating insanely good food (no canned veggies for us!).

Our 2nd or 3rd thanksgiving I came across the recipe for these delightful little Cheddar & Onion Biscuit Puffs. They didn’t even make it through the first course! And then the worst possible thing that could happen, happened. I lost the recipe.

I tried to find something similar. Made a different cheddar biscuit and it was terrible. Hard as a rock and definitely  not the same. Then I moved into my current place and when I was sorting through things I found the recipe again!!! I immediately sent it to my sister to add to her recipe book so that someone had it just in case I lost it again. Which of course, I did. I still have no idea where that guy went. My sister to the rescue! Thank goodness, I had enough sense to share it! Also part of my reason for sharing it with all of you…then it will forever be with me and I’ll never lose it again!

I don’t know where I originally found this recipe (it was before Pinterest). If you happen to know where it came from…please let me know so I can credit approporiately!

These tasty little guys have the tangy taste of the extra sharp cheddar, and the rich flavor of the green onions, and they have the flavor of a biscuit but the consistency of a puff! They are HUGE hits when I make them!

Cheddar and Onion Biscuit Puffs

Ingredients

1 cup water

1/4 cup butter (cut into four pieces)

1/2 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

1 cup + 2 tablespoons all purpose flour

4 large eggs

1 1/2 cups extra sharp cheddar

2/3 cups minced green onion

**The onion flavor is pretty strong, I think you could do 1/3 cup of minced green onion and be totally fine.

Instructions

Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Preheat oven to 375.

Bring water, butter and salt to a boil in a saucepan.

Remove from heat; mix in flour. Stir over medium heat until mixture becomes slightly shiny and pulls away from sides of pan; about 3 minutes.

Transfer to stand mixer fitted with paddle, add eggs, one at a time, mixing well to form sticky dough.

Mix in cheese and green onions.

Using two teaspoons, form dough into 1 1/4-1 1/2 inch ovals. Space on baking sheet about 1 inch apart.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve warm!

cheddar, eggs, onion, flour, butter

Cheddar Onion Biscuit Puffs

Onion Biscuits

Biscuits Cheddar

Onion Puffs

Cheddar puffs

 

6 thoughts on “Cheddar & Onion Biscuit Puffs

  1. what pretty little fellows these are! i HATE losing beloved recipes! this happened to me with a favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, my grandma’s. nothing i tried from the internet was like it. i finally found it again and made like, 20 copies! haha!

    • Thank you! They taste as good as they look too (at least I think so!) I may just have to make another batch as I didn’t have any left overs from Thanksgiving!! The notebook has been a lifesaver! I’ve also been using it to keep track of recipes I actually create as well! I always make things spur of the moment but never write it down!

Leave a Reply

