Slow Cooker Greek Chicken

I am not a big chicken eater at all. I very rarely eat it, let alone buy it. Chicken however is cheap, and the recipes out there are abundant.  Every once and awhile I’ll get the urge to try out something with chicken in it. I’ve found that I typically prefer a breaded chicken or when chicken is an ingredient in a dish compared to the main focus. But I was inspired by my friend this weekend and I figured it would be great to whip something up and eat throughout the week.

My girlfriend (like me) has been in a long distance relationship. Her boyfriend is Greek and he is here in the USA for a few months. He arrived last week so they hosted a “Welcome to America/Christmas Party!” and her boyfriend cooked. Can I just say…having homemade Greek food is WAY better than at a restaurant! I got super inspired, and figured I try my hand at a Greek inspired chicken!

Its incredibly easy. And I totally used my slow cooker, which make it even easier. As I was trying to figure out what I would make along with it as a side, I realized that simple potatoes and a refreshing cucumber salad would be PERFECT!

Slow Cooker Greek Chicken

Slow Cooker Greek Yogurt Chicken

Ingredients

2 Lemons

1 Cup Greek Yogurt

1 tablepoon Parsley

1 Tablespoon Oregano

1/4 cup olive oil

3 potatoes, cleaned and diced.

1 teaspoon garlic powder (I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic….but I REALLY like garlic)

Salt and Pepper

Chicken Breast or Tenders

Cucumber Salad

2 Baby cucumbers

Handful of grape tomatoes

1/4 cup of diced red onion

1/3 cup Feta Cheese

1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil

Salt

Yogurt Greek Chicken

 

Instructions

Slow Cooker Greek Chicken

In a small bowl mix the yogurt, olive oil, garlic (powder or minced), parsley, and oregano.  Add the juice of ONE lemon to the mixture.

Place your chicken in a ziploc bag. I opted for chicken tenders, because its just me and often an entire chicken breast is too much for me to eat. This way I can spread it out over the entire week.

Add your yogurt mixture to the back and shake, smoosh and cover the tenders in the mixture!

Slice your 2nd lemon into thick slices. I have a small crock pot so I sliced into 4 pieces.  Layer your lemons on the bottom of the crock pot.

Add your diced potatoes next in an even layer. Season with salt and pepper. (obviously you could do more with the potatoes, I considered doing so but opted to go with just S/P and the lemon for seasoning. It didn’t disappoint.

Dump your chicken into the crock pot and turn on high.

Let cook for 3-4 hours until chicken is thouroughly cooked.

Cucumber Salad

*I’ve made this recipe before, I just modified slightly this time around. You can find the previous recipe here!

Dice your cucumbers, tomatoes and red onion. Add your olive oil and season with salt. Mix together adding in the Feta Cheese! Its SO EASY! And super delicious!

Lemons

Greek Yogurt

Greek Yogurt Chicken

Greek Chicken

Slow Cooker Greek Chicken

 

The slow cooker made this dish so moist and the tangy-ness of the lemon and the greek yogurt was perfectly complimented by the refreshing cucumber salad! The potatoes, perfectly pick up the lemon and are SO simple, they didn’t need much more than a dash of parsley!

I really love international cooking and love to make food that is really inspired by traditional recipes from other countries! I have this grand plan for when I’m in London, that when I’m settled and working, I want to travel around to different countries and take some cooking classes on local dishes!

What inspires you when you’re cooking up something tasty!?

Leave a Reply

