Spicy Vinegar Slaw

Vinegar, Pepper, Slaw, Vinegar Slaw, Coleslaw

When I think of coleslaw, I think of a traditional creamy coleslaw…and summer. I normally do not like coleslaw, at least the creamy kind, but recently I was turned on to a vinegar style coleslaw. And I can tell you I can’t get enough. And I definitely don’t think of summer anymore.

I instantly think of a vinegar coleslaw in association with southern comfort food. There’s a restaurant in Chicago called Wishbone, that serves up all the favorites; BBQ, Mac & Cheese, Grits and Cornbread. They also serve up an absolutely delicious vinegar slaw. Its the first thing I eat off my plate! Its light, slightly spicy and a perfect compliment to the heaviness and richness of traditional southern food.

I decided I needed to make my own! And even though I could save this recipe for summer, I decided with all the sugar, rich, comforting foods we eat around the holidays. This is a great light side dish for those mashed potatoes and creamy Green Bean Casserole. I made my recipe with a little extra kick so its pretty spicy!

Spicy Vinegar Slaw

Ingredients

1 Bag of Shredded Cabbage (or you can shred your own)

1 Bag of Broccoli Slaw (I got mine from Trader Joe’s)

1 1/4 C Red Wine Vinegar

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Salt

1 Tbsp Pepper

1 Tbsp Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

1/3 C Sugar

**Optional Ingredients

You could also add onions, peppers, cucumbers or even zucchini if you’re feeling extra ambitious. Or opt for a more colorful cabbage! Purple Cabbage makes a great statement but tends to be  little bitter for my tastes. 

Sugar and Vinegar

Instructions

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Let soak for an hour or so. Enjoy!

slaw

slaw.vinegar

Vinegar.slaw

Vinegar Slaw

This recipe is a pretty big batch. Obviously I could not eat all this in one sitting, let alone probably over the course of a week. So I divided it up into small little freezer containers and tossed it in the freezer. Its perfect for a light lunch, as I literally could just eat this and be totally happy.  It doesn’t taste EXACTLY like the one from Wishbone, but its just as tasty.

This side dish? Only has 108 Calories! So its super healthy for you! It gives ya a little more room to take that extra piece of cherry pie!

3 thoughts on “Spicy Vinegar Slaw

  1. Pingback: Garlic and Green Vegetable Quinoa | The O Guide

Leave a Reply

