December Birchbox Review!

Ok, I LOVE it when Birchbox sends me a pretty box. The December box has been my absolute favorite box so far its blue with gold foil all over it! I’ve recently started re-purposing my boxes as little trays for jewelry, organizers for drawers and as jewelry making supplies storage (I’m brainstorming and I’ve got tons of jewelry ideas that I’ll be venturing into starting in January so keep an eye out for an Etsy shop coming soon!) But this particular box might just have to be displayed somewhere in my apartment! Not just in a drawer!

This month’s Birchbox was pretty awesome. I definitely got some products I will (and have already) use. I haven’t tried the Miss Jessie curly hair product yet, but I’m really eager to try it since its been a top product for us curly haired ladies for quite some time. Although I’m super excited to try the product, it came on a sad, sad note. Titi Branch one of the founders of Miss Jessie’s passed away early December. She left behind family and friends and an incredibly successful company.

With the sadness of the passing of Titi Branch, there is still a lot of happiness in my box! Yay for samples!

December Birchbox Review

December Birchbox

Dec Birchbox

Birchbox December

Dec Birchbox Products

So on to the review! I opted not to take photos of individual products this time, as I’ve been running out of time with the holidays. Plus I just like the box so much!

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo: 

I received an Amika product before and I wasn’t super crazy about it. I was glad to get a dry shampoo because I’ve been meaning to try one out. I’ve used them in the past but for some reason everytime I buy a can, the freakin nozzle gets clogged after one use.  This Amika one has not done that (yet) and overall it seems to be a pretty decent product. For me it didn’t last super long for my hair to be feeling kinda slimy and stringy and the scent is VERY strong. It was straight up perfume on my hair. Which can be nice but this was pretty overwhelming. For me, I’d pass on dropping the cash for it.

W3LL People Brightener: 

I’ve used brightners in the past (particularly a Wet and Wild one that I freaking loved for a long time), I recently haven’t really used them, I’ve been trying hard to up my beauty game again though. So this was a welcome little item. In the fullsize form it comes in a stick, which I would have to say would be much better for application. It’s VERY subtle on me and almost barely noticable, but in the right light its perfect. The little pot will last me a LONG time as I try to use brushes to apply products like this because a little goes a long way.

SeaRx Microdermabrasion Face and Body Scrub:

There was enough product for one use in the little tube, I wasn’t disappointed by it either. My face tends to get a little dry, especially on my cheeks and it can get even worse when I exfoliate. This was really gentle, not too harsh and made my skin feel pretty clean. I probably wouldn’t spend $28 on it as I use similar products that are less expensive. But if I had the money to burn I’d probably buy it!

Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Creme: 

It says its good for dry skin and lips. So with winter in full swing, my lips are super dry, always peeling and cracking. So I put that baby on my lips. Now I REALLY love the Dr. Lipp Nipple Balm, I think its by far one of the best products I’ve gotten in my Birchbox. The Yu-Be is pretty good too, it has an odd smell almost medicinal. It reminded me of Gold Bond lotion, which smells pretty terrible. It was pretty moisturizing on my lips, but not nearly as noticable as the Dr. Lipp Nipple Balm (which made my lips feel like buttah). If it didn’t smell so terrible, I’d probably consider it. But I don’t like smelling like Bengay…

Lord & Berry Paillettes Eye Pencil: 

Oh Birchbox, how you love to send me eyeliners…I literally will NEVER have to buy another eyeliner for all of 2015. I have so many. This Lord & Berry one has sparkles in it. Which is not my typical eyeliner choice. I haven’t tried it yet, this may be a “bust it out on NYE” eyeliner. For $18, I wouldn’t spend that much on any eyeliner, let alone one with glitter…

Miss Jessie’s Original Jelly Soft Curls: 

This sample is pretty large! I’m excited to give it a whirl. I don’t wear my hair curly very often anymore, as its getting longer and longer. My curls tend to get really flat when its long. And my hair is the longest its been in probably 4-5 years! I’ve been taking really good care of my hair; regular trims, limited heat styling and no more dying until it grows another 5-6 inches (hopefully by my birthday!). I started taking biotin and want to start doing more airdrying to avoid wearing it back wet. So hopefully the Miss Jessie’s will help me with that!

 

Did you subscribe to any monthly boxes? I’d love to get more but I have a hard time going through the samples I do get! I finally used my Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish sample and gotta say…LOVED it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “December Birchbox Review!

  1. I’m always excited to try out curly hair products – I feel like no matter what I use, my curls just get so tangled constantly. Definitely let us know how you liked that one!
    xox
    giedre

Leave a Reply

