Garlic and Green Vegetable Quinoa

Happy Monday! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend! I was uber productive! I made it through a few more tasks on my Cleaning Challenge so my floors are extra clean! I gotta say even though I feel like I’m constantly washing dishes, it is really nice to have a clean (non-smelly) sink that isn’t filled with dirty dishes. Speaking of which…there are a few dishes pans hanging out in there, I gotta get on that!

So far the challenge has been pretty helpful. I cleaned out all my cupboards and my fridge & freezer which was well overdue and I sorted through my clothes and filled yet ANOTHER bag to bring to donate! Have you given yourself any sort of challenge to start the new year off right?

One of my other challenges for January was to really cut down on my budgets. One of the ways I knew I could really be successful in doing so was to not go out to eat for lunch. I made it through last week without going to lunch one day! Success! So now I’m shooting for two weeks! I’m also going to give myself an extra challenge and try not to spend a single dollar all week. I’ve done it before and have been mildly successful. Its a lot more challenging than it seems.

To complete this challenge I knew I needed to control my temptation to spend for lunch by making lunches for the entire week. Its not my normal thing to do (because I really don’t do the whole meal planning thing) But I decided to give it a shot and see if it would help me with my goal! Here’s to starting the week off right!

I made two dishes, prepped a ton of veggies and was going to make a third, but realized there was no way I would eat all that food in a week. I made so much food that its enough for both lunches AND dinners for the week. Plus I still have some Vinegar Slaw and a container of refried bean soup in the freezer!

Alright! I’m getting to this tasty recipe!

I had a bunch of veggies in my freezer that I re-discovered during my clean out. Plus a package of Quinoa. I put my head to paper and came up with a pretty tasty dish!

Quinoa, Garlic, Vegetables

Garlic & Green Vegetable Quinoa

Ingredients

1 cup (uncooked) Quinoa

Vegetables: (I used what I had in my freezer, you can sub for whatever you want. Add more or less! These are my half-assed measurements. I don’t cook with measuring cups)

1/2 cup Broccoli

1/2 cup Spinach

1/3 cup Peas

1/2 cup Asparagus

1/4 cup Green Onions

1 1/2 tablespoons of minced garlic (I have no idea how many cloves that is, but I have the pre-minced stuff)

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 cup milk (I use unsweetened soy milk)

2 tablespoons of butter

Salt and Pepper

Chicken (optional)

Feta Cheese (optional)

Instructions

Cook your Quinoa according to instructions. Typically 1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water or chicken stock. I used chicken stock for this particular recipe.

In a large saute pan, add olive oil, garlic, and your vegetables. Add butter, milk, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste.  As your veggies are cooked down slightly, add your quinoa slowly. Get everything all mixed up and top with Feta Cheese! Serve warm!

Super easy right!? I originally intended on adding chicken, which I had cooked all day in my crockpot. But forgot until after I took photos.

Enjoy! Check it out! My pics are getting WAY better!!! I’m practicing!

Garlic and Greens Quinoa

Quinoa, Garlic, Vegetables

Quinoa Broccoli

6 thoughts on “Garlic and Green Vegetable Quinoa

  1. Pingback: How to Have a Successful NO-Spend Week! | The O Guide

Leave a Reply

