Figuring Out Your Life Can Take Time and That’s OK.

Some people are born knowing what they want to do with their lives. They find their passion early on, stick to it and find success in following their dreams and goals. Then there are others (like me!) who spend many years trying to find the right fit, figuring out where I belong and what works and what doesn’t, for me. My dream job? It changes, constantly. As I get older, my priorities change and my dreams change.

When I was a teenager, I thought 100% that I would be living in LA, traveling the world as an actress. Acting was my escape from my shy natured self. It let me be someone else, even for just a few hours a day. By the time I graduated high school, I decided the way for me to get out of where I was to go to school. I decided one way or another I’d be working in film. Whether it be in front of the camera, or behind. That fell through pretty quickly, after about a year and a half of film school I got so overwhelmed and underwhelmed by the industry that I realized I needed to be back where my heart (at the time) belonged. Theater. I graduated with a degree in theater after an extra year of school, but I found myself more facinated with the behind the scenes, the makeup, the directing and producing. But by the time I actually graduated, I was so burned out I couldn’t even muster the motivation to work in makeup for money. I was 23 at the time and had to step back and re-evaluate.

I’ve re-evaluated my life like 15 times over the course of the last 12 years.Β 

I decided perhaps the things I enjoyed while I was in school, the history of theater, the background, the teaching was where I belonged. I went back to school for a 2nd bachelors degree in the hopes I could work as a professor teaching theater history. The pathway to working as a professor is long and hard and is still something I would love to do, but that long path was not going to pay my bills quite yet.

The last few years I’ve taken some time, found a job that I enjoy and figured out what I don’t like. I thought being a therapist would be a great option for me because everyone comes to me for advice. But then I realized, that the hardknocks of others lives can be really hard to deal with personally. I’m an optimistic person, I live in optimism, but hearing sad stories over and over again wears you down. Therapy was not for me. I’m glad I realized it fairly quickly because it would have been another MASSIVE amount of student loans for me to pay off. (I just did some exit counseling for my student loans and according to the government, in order for me to maintain my current expenses AND pay my student loans, I need to make an income of $141,500 a year! I mean hey! Government! If you’ve got a job that will pay me that, please let me know! because I’ll take it!)

Here’s the thing. I’m still figuring it out. And that’s OK!

I have an idea of where I want to go and what I want to do. I decided a masters in a more broad area (think strategic marketing) will open up a whole bunch of doors for me, from running my own business, helping others run theirs and working with non-profits.

So why all this back story?Β 

Part of my journey to figuring out what I want to do is embracing the fact that I have no freaking clue. I take each day and I go forward with the idea that I’ll figure it out, but I’m going to live in the moment, and for the NOW.

I want to share that sentiment with people! I want you to know that it is TOTALLY ok if you don’t have it figured out. Its ok to try new things, realize that they aren’t going to work for you and start something new. Its ok to have a million different ideas and to let some fizzle and some soar (like me, and this blog) The biggest thing you have to remember?

You have to try.

4f04aa7f3837b3c080ff45e914f22509

Via Pinterest

 

But here’s my one note of caution. Before you invest a ton of money into a new business venture, and I’m not talking a few hundred dollars, I’m talking lots of time and lots of money. Be a little more sure. Find opportunities to test the waters, try internships, try shadowing and spend sometime trying your position before you jump into a new business. I’ve been there, invested thousands of dollars in a starting a freelance makeup business only to find it wasn’t for me. I’ve started and stopped many a direct sales companies and was left with a lot of money spent and not a lot of money gained. You have to try, but don’t dive before you have a good understanding of the work it takes.

c7eb7d8fc9e93b6cead1fd2f7bacbdfd

Via Pinterest

 

If you haven’t had a chance, check out my About Me page. Through my life experience and my kick ass advice giving (according to friends and family) I’m going to be offering some life coaching through the blog. If you are trying to figure out what you want to do with your career, or maybe you’re just trying to figure out relationships, finances, health or having a hard time accomplishing the tasks you need to accomplish, I want to help!

I’m going to be offering TWO FREE month long one on one coaching sessions for the month of February. If you are interested, shoot me an email! It’s going to be first come first serve so email me! If you’re still interested I’ll be developing a price list for One Month, 3 month and 6 month coaching sessions!

I’m super excited about it! I want to help you be the best that you can be, in every aspect of your life!

 

Leave a Reply

