Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni (minus the box!)

Hamburger Helper was a staple in our house growing up.  It was super easy to make, pretty inexpensive and pretty much anyone could make it. Even as an adult its one of those things that I secretly still enjoy eating, but when I went to a healthier diet and tried to eliminate all processed foods I realized that the box version of Hamburger Helper was  just not going to fit into my diet, no matter how much I enjoy eating it.

I needed to find a homemade alternative that would let me eat it without feeling groggy from the overly processed ingredients. In comes Farm Girl Gourmet! I found her recipe on Pinterest (of course!) and thought to myself, problem solved! Hamburger Helper without the icky crap that comes in the boxed version. Now I borrowed Heather’s recipe and made a few additions to it as I wanted to experiment a little. My first version of this dish was WAY too spicy and not cheesey enough. But I learned my lesson and made a much better modification!

Cheeseburger Mac Homemade

I made a full batch of this which I portioned out and gave me enough lunches/dinners for almost two weeks. #singlegirlproblems! Eating the same thing for 2 weeks straight is not what I call fun in my book, but it definitely helps simplify my life. I had been trying to get into the habit of Sunday’s being my cook for the week day, but this weekend I got some heart crushing news and I pretty much moped on the couch in my pajamas for two days straight. Even though I’m completely devistated and pretty much have to re-figure out what I’m going to do now…I have ideas and plans to help get me through. No more England, but maybe some place warmer is in store. But anywho, on to the recipe!

Ingredients

Spices

1 pound lean hamburger

3 cups soy milk, unsweetened (or regular milk if you choose)

1 box of macaroni noodles

3 cups of sharp cheddar shredded cheese

1 cup of water

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon tumeric

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon paprika

Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions

Brown your beef in a deep saute pan, drain the excess fat return to a medium heat. Add your milk, water, spices and noodles.

Simmer for 10-15 minutes or until noodles are cooked. Add cheese and stir until melted. Let stand on low heat for 3-5 minute or until sauce thickens.

Enjoy!

Almost as easy as the box version! Thanks so much to Heather over at Farm Girl Gourmet for this recipe inspiration! Its always good to find non-processed options of our favorite meals!  Be sure to head on over to her site to check out her awesome recipes!

Burger Mac & cheese

Macaroni & Burger

Cheeseburger macaroni

Cheeseburger Mac Homemade

 

Leave a Reply

