Tuna Noodle Casserole

I’ve been in a total comfort food kick. I need the comfort. Its been cold, I’ve had a bad couple of weeks and there’s nothing like some old school classics to make you feel warm and cozy inside and maybe make you feel a little bit better in the midst of a bad breakup. Ice cream also helps, but I end up colder than I was before I started eating it.  Plus despite my absolute love of all things cheese, I’m lactose intolerant and ice cream just makes me cry into my pillow in pain.

So one of my FAVORITE foods ever, besides macaroni and cheese is Tuna Noodle Casserole. Yep, can’t deny it. I love it. It is so easy to make, and I some how always (in the past) managed to have a can or two of tuna and cream of mushroom soup in the cupboard. This time around I decided to go for a non-processed version of my favorite classic. And opted to try my hand at making my own cream of mushroom soup.

Ingredients

Double Batch of Cream of Mushroom Soup (or your own recipe) OR two cans of condensed cream of mushroom soup.

2 cans of white albacore tuna in water

1 bag of egg noodles

Parmesan Cheese

Hard Boiled Eggs (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350. Boil your seasoned water in a large pot and boil your noodles. Drain, and return to pot. Add in the cream of mushroom soup and mix. Add two cans of drained tuna.  In a casserole dish, transfer your noodles, soup and tuna. Bake for 30 minutes. Garnish with Parmesan cheese and sliced hard boiled eggs if you choose. Serve warm!

So this recipe looks a little bit more yellow than you would typically see a tuna noodle casserole, that is a result of the cream of mushroom soup recipe. It used vegetable stock and the one I used was a very orange stock. I also opted for soy milk and didn’t get the rich creaminess that perhaps a whole milk or 2% milk would have brought (I haven’t bought regular milk in probably 3 years). While the visuals weren’t exactly how I expected it still tastes pretty delicious! You really could use any cream of mushroom soup recipe you wanted to, or if you want the ease of using a condensed soup you could do that as well. This made a pretty huge batch and should last me through the week! *I also forgot to boil some eggs…but my family traditionally added slices of hard boiled eggs on top!*

Homemade Tuna Noodle

Tuna Casserole

Tuna Noodle Casserole

tuna noodle casserole-theoguide

casserole

Casserole Tuna

Casserole Tuna Noodle

 

Leave a Reply

