January Budget Recap

January Budget RecapI some how managed this month to really be under budget in some areas…and way over in others. I think one of the problems I’m coming across is I’m not being detailed enough in my actual trips. Like I will go to Walgreens for some grocery items but also pick up makeup…so it covers both shopping and grocery categories. My goal for February is to keep receipts and try to be more specific in my tracking.

Groceries:

Budgeted: $250

Actual: $313

Difference: $63

Another month going way over on budget on this one! I’ve been trying desperately to cut back on my grocery bills but always manage to go over. I’m cooking more at home and finding that I’m always missing something in my cupboard for a recipe. I’ve also been buying more meat products (I bought lots of sausage, chicken and beef in January for some reason). I’m thinking that it may be worth a look into getting a Costco membership for some items that are non-perishable and for meat if I’m going to cook with it more.  Its still something I’m mulling over if its worth it to do right now….

Gas & Transportation:

Budget: $50

Actual: $0

Difference: $50

Didn’t have to spend anything on gas or transportation. But come February I have to renew my city sticker…definitely NOT a perk of living in Chicago.

Shopping

Budget: $200 ( I lowered it this month!)

Actual: $98

Difference: $102

I am SO proud of myself this month for shopping!  I not only lowered my budget but was super under budget! I even went shopping a few times and didn’t find anything so I didn’t spend! The few things I did end up buying were online and I started using ebates for the rewards! But now that I’m not going to England, I’m still planning on moving out of Chicago so I want to save up as much as I can so I can buy some nicer furniture and really decorate when I move and have the space to! I’ve already made a pinterest board of all my decorating ideas for my next place!

Food/Entertainment

Budget: $100 but flexible

Actual: $41

Difference: $59

My one week of No Lunches and my one week of No-Spend really made it happen. I can 100% attribute my success in this budget because of it. It also made me spend a little more in my grocery budget but I’ve decided to keep it up, and try to stick to no going out to lunch, or if I do, just once a week.

Beauty

Budget: $50

**I rarely get my hair and nails done so this budget will be as needed.

Actual: $0

Difference: $50

Blog Expenses/Jewelry Making Supplies

Budget: $150

Actual: $101

Difference: $49

I got this idea in my head that I was going to make jewelry and sell it on Etsy. So I went out and bought a shit ton of stuff over Christmas and then awhole bunch more crap this month. I really like making the jewelry but my skills are not so hot. So instead of buying more crap…I’m going to try to use what I’ve got first. Next month I’m hoping to FINALLY get my blog re-launched (My sister showed me the sneak peek and it looks awesome!) So I’ll be buying some sponsorship on some blogs and finally figure out a free printable/guide for when you subscribe to the blog!

What would you want to see from me?!

January Budget

Total Budget: $800

Actual: $546

Difference: $254

Additional Income: $86 + Year end bonus! 

I sold an item on Poshmark and sold a bed frame I had laying around my apartment. In February I’m going to try to do some more clearing out of things (I have a standing mirror/jewelry cabinet and couple laptops to sell and yet again…more clothes) 

Despite my really awesome job this month on things like shopping and going out to eat. I still definitely was over budget. I had some extra expenses in January, my poor puppy had to go to the vet. And Next month will be the same, vet visits, city stickers, taxes and a trip to Austin are all on the books. So February has some BIG goals!

I’m doing my Goals Post on the 1st of the month! Just to share my February Goals and some updates on my life…if you couldn’t tell there are some things a happenin’!

 

Leave a Reply

